Skip to main content

🧭 Map my round/GPS tracking β€” FAQ

Questions about how to map your round playing disc golf and get a GPS track on your scorecard.

How can I enable this?

To get a map of your round, you must set your location settings to allow UDisc to track your location while you play.

Note: Make sure it's turned on for every round by going to You tab β†’ Menu (≑) β†’ App settings β†’ Scorecards and toggle Map my rounds on.

  • iOS: Go to your device settings -> UDisc -> Location -> Set to While Using the App. Make sure Precise Location is toggled on.

  • Android: Open device settings and go to Location -> App location permissions -> UDisc. On this screen make sure to select Allow only while using the app and toggle on Use precise location.

What if I don't want to track every round?

When creating your scorecard, you can toggle this on and off for any round you play.

Can I map my round while keeping score on my watch?

Definitely! However, you must keep your phone with you in order to have an accurate map of your round.

Note: If your phone is in your bag or on a cart, you'll still receive a map of anywhere the phone goes, but this will impact your ability to receive an accurate step count. Learn more in How do I track my activity for a disc golf round?

What if someone else starts the round on their phone?

Make sure to open the scorecard on your own device at the beginning of the round so that your location can be tracked, and keep your phone with you.

When will UDisc be tracking my location?

If you have enabled Map my round, location tracking will begin when you start a round, and when the round is finished, the location tracking will stop.

What happens if I play a course or layout without a map?

Currently the option to map your round is only available for courses or layouts that have already been mapped.

Why can't I see my map live during the round?

Currently the map of your round is only visible once the round has been completed. You can see it on the round recap screen, and anytime you look back at the details of your round.

Why isn't the lock screen rangefinder available to me?

In order to view the lock screen rangefinder, a subscription to UDisc Pro is required, and Map my round must be enabled. If it's still not showing up, check these device settings:

  • iOS:

    • Settings β†’ Face ID & Passcode β†’ Allow Access When Locked β€” toggle on Live Activities

    • Settings β†’ UDisc β€” toggle on Live Activities

    • Settings β†’ Notifications β†’ UDisc β€” make sure Lock Screen is checked and Show Previews is set to Always

    • Settings β†’ Privacy & Security β†’ Location Services β†’ UDisc β€” set to Always and toggle on Precise Location

    • Settings β†’ General β†’ Background App Refresh β€” make sure it's on globally, and enabled for UDisc

    • Settings β†’ Battery β€” make sure Low Power Mode is off (it disables Background App Refresh)

  • Android:

    • Settings β†’ Notifications β†’ Lockscreen β€” set to show notification content

    • Settings β†’ Apps β†’ UDisc β†’ Notifications β€” enabled

    • Settings β†’ Apps β†’ UDisc β†’ Permissions β†’ Location β€” set to Allowed all the time and toggle on Use precise location

    • Settings β†’ Apps β†’ UDisc β†’ Battery β€” set to Unrestricted (not Optimized)

Note: Exact menu names and steps can vary slightly by phone manufacturer (for example, Samsung's settings menu is laid out a bit differently than a Pixel's) β€” look for the closest matching option if yours doesn't match exactly.

Note: If you're using an iPhone, this is only available on iOS 17 or newer. See iPhone models compatible with iOS 17 for the full device list.

Will advancing to the next hole from the lock screen also advance the hole on the scorecard?

No. Changing holes on the lock screen only changes what you see on the lock screen β€” it doesn't change the hole you're on in the active scorecard. When you unlock the device, the scorecard will still be on whichever hole you left off on.

What happens if I toggle Map My Round off during my round?

If you toggle Map my round off, this will stop any mapping that has taken place and delete it from your post-round recap. If you toggle Map my round back on during the round, it will only record your mapping from when you toggled it back on. For the best experience, keep Map my round toggled on and avoid toggling it off during your round.

What if I forget to finish my round and I leave the course?

If you forget to finish your round, once you are no longer at the course, the location tracking will stop and we'll send you a quick reminder to complete the round.


Need more help? Check out the UDisc Landing Zone here for tips from fellow disc golfers, or ask to talk to a person in the chat.

Did this answer your question?